Posted by: Sukanya Patwardhan | January 24, 2021

HUMANS in My Life – Mr Madhukar Chavan, ex- General Manager SKF Bearings

Humans in my life is a series I plan to write about people who helped me become a better person and a professional. Will you like it?
Mr. Madhukar ChavanI recently met with Mr Chavan, now 79 and happily living with his family. He continues to be my role model, my Guru and mentor teaching me with his example – how to honor opportunities life offers, no matter what!It was my first corporate job at SKF Bearings. I was the first woman manager appointed in India. Being an HR business partner, my first assignment was to research the reasons for blue-collar absenteeism and reduce it. My findings showed that the main reason for absenteeism was alcoholism and other addictions. My new journey started to understand what alcoholism is and working with alcoholics and their families. I used to connect with their supervisors, managers, peers, and Leaders and understand work situations. That is how I met with Mr. Madhukar Chavan, then General Manager at SKF – the most respected leader in SKF India and worldwide SKF Bearings corporation. I still remember my meeting with him and his earnest commitment to the well-being of all workers. He facilitated my meeting with the Workers’ Union council immediately and extended his total support to me. It meant a lot to me as 1) It was my first job in the corporate sector 2) There was (un) obvious skepticism about a woman working on the shop floor 3) The alcoholics in the company had a notorious reputation and everyone thought that they were beyond redemption. What struck me was his life positivity, dignity, composure, simplicity, innate inspiration to do only good and right, and deep knowledge of the business.Mr. Chavan was/is a Leader anchored in positivity. I think my success in this intricate assignment was because of his support and giving me guidance as and when required. As a young unmarried girl, all that I experienced across the shop floor was respect, trust, and open support. To help addicts overcome their most dark phase became a kind of movement in SKF, India. We worked together as a team though I front-ended interaction with addicts and their family members. I had visited each one’s home and had a great experience of their family’s unconditional support. We had extraordinary success in helping many to be sober. Even today they are in touch with me just to tell their beautiful success stories. I couldn’t have done this with Mr. Chavan’s collaboration and appreciation for the approach to treating an alcoholic with respect from the entire shop-floor.As I look back and reflect on my first corporate assignment with a smile, I feel indebted to SKF management to give me an opportunity to understand human psychology and how compassion can work wonders. I still cherish those memories. Thank you Sir!


Leave a comment

Categories